Clive Coleman hosts legal property awards

At a ceremony at the Sheraton Grand Hotel in Park Lane on 30th June, Maltin PR Senior Partner and former BBC Legal Correspondent Clive Coleman hosted the 2022 Enfranchisement and Right to Manage Awards. The ERMA’s, as they have come to be known, celebrate legal and professional excellence in the leasehold enfranchisement and right to manage industry. The awards honour the finest professionals working in the sector and are now in their 13th year. Clive hosted the event in 2019 and, following the hiatus caused by the Covid pandemic, returned by popular demand to host this year’s ceremony. After a highly entertaining speech, Clive introduced the nine categories, with winners called to the stage to be presented with their awards by some of the leading figures in the industry.

Winners included:

  • Solicitor of the Year, Leigh Shapiro, Irwin Mitchell
  • Solicitors Firm of the Year, Bishop and Sewell LLP
  • Chambers of the Year, Tanfield Chambers
  • Barrister of the Year, Mark Loveday
  • Young Lawyer of the Year, Matthew Hollamby – Commonhold & Leasehold Experts Limited

The ERMAs are organised by News on the Block.

Clive commented: “It was a great pleasure to be asked back to host the ERMAs and to work with the brilliant team at News on the Block in putting on this year’s event. It was clear that the sector is back to its vibrant best in 2022, with a raft of exceptionally high calibre nominees in all categories. Congratulations to all of those who won, were highly commended and nominated finalists. With the Leasehold Reform Act, part of the most significant reforms to property law in a generation, coming into force on the same day as the ERMAs, the sector faces an exciting period of change and challenge.”

A full list of all the winners, highly commended and finalists, together with the ERMA’s sponsors, can be found here.